Which Stage of Scorpio Am I In?

Which Stage Of Scorpio Am I In?

If you know anything about Scorpios, you probably know that they are intense and mysterious. They also love sex, death, and transformation. They can sometimes be manipulative and controlling. But are you aware that Scorpios move through three distinct stages? 

The three stages of Scorpio are the Scorpion, Eagle, and the Phoenix. By being aware of these three totems, you can determine which stage you are at and where you need to transform. A Scorpio can change from being self-protective and having a sting to being a great spreader of peace and healing. 

In this article, we will discuss Pluto, the ruler of Scorpio, and some of the mythology of Scorpio. Then we will talk about the three distinct stages of Scorpio so you can figure out where on this path you sit.



Scorpio is the eighth sign of the zodiac. It is ruled by Pluto, which is associated with regeneration, transformation, and rebirth. Pluto brings a new perspective. It can help you see things differently and evolve your views on life. 

Destruction always comes before rebirth. Pluto will destroy everything in its path that isn’t needed. Viruses, destruction, death, obsession, and coercion are all associated with Pluto. Pluto enables you to get in touch with your inner self and subconscious. 

The energy of Pluto is similar to that of Shiva. Shiva destroys the universe so that it can be reborn. Pluto can stay in each sun sign for between 12 and 31 years. This means that the influence of Pluto is generational rather than personal. 

The Mythology of Scorpio

Orion was a fearless hunter who wanted to kill every animal on Earth. Gaia, the Earth Goddess, was furious and asked Scorpio, in the form of a giant scorpion, to kill Orion and protect the animals. 

Scorpio stung Orion. Gaia rewarded Scorpio for his bravery by placing him in the night sky. In the sky, Scorpio is seen chasing Orion. Orion is permitted to hunt during the winter, but Scorpio will chase him away in springtime. 

Stages of Scorpio

Scorpio is the only sign of the zodiac represented by three distinct totems. These are the scorpion, the eagle, and the phoenix (sometimes, the third stage is represented by a dove).

Scorpios are known for having an intense inner world and desiring constant transformation. Therefore, it makes sense that several different stages of evolution would symbolize this sign. 

The Scorpion

The Scorpion

The scorpion is the first stage of the lifecycle of Scorpio. It represents dark and base emotions. At this stage, you will be continually seduced by lower vibrational emotions, such as jealousy and anger.

In the first stage, these negative emotions will rule you and lead you to be very reactive. The weight of these negative emotions leads to minimal self-control. A scorpion struggles to have empathy, understanding, or clear thinking. 

The scorpion is the raw form of Scorpio. At this stage, you can be very destructive and intimidating to others. The scorpion is self-protective, leading to ego and pride taking over as a defense mechanism. The scorpion will retaliate to any perceived threat with great vengeance. You would rather be seen as the aggressor than the victim. 

The scorpion is likely to receive difficult lessons through betrayal and loss. You are self-determined, deliberate, and stubborn. The scorpion may indulge in addictive behaviors to try and calm an anxious mind. 

Eventually, the scorpion will realize that the only way to find more peace is to embrace transformation. This means working on growing your awareness. This newfound awareness will eventually lead to the next stage.

The Eagle

The Eagle

The eagle is the second stage of transformation. It is a symbol of great courage and personal power. The eagle is aware of its surroundings and flies freely. This represents reaching a certain stage of maturity. 

The eagle will rely on intuition and personal wisdom to solve problems. You will also assist others on their path. At this stage, you are concerned with wisdom, philosophy, and higher perceptions. 

You will have a keen observational sense along with a powerful intuition. This allows you to discern individuals very quickly. You can choose to positively or negatively influence others with your strong persona. 

An eagle has much more self-awareness than a scorpion. You may still seek to manipulate others, but it will be less destructive. Instead of using a sharp sting, you will swoop down from high above, defeat your prey, and fly back into the blue sky. 

The eagle still struggles with balance. You may wonder whether to influence yourself or the world at large. The eagle has some spiritual growth to achieve to reach the final stage. 

The Phoenix

The Phoenix

The phoenix is the final stage of evolution for Scorpios. Scorpio’s extreme and intense personalities mean that you will often struggle with living a balanced life. As a more composed Scorpio, you will no longer feel the need to manipulate others for your own ends.

Like the phoenix, you are reborn from the ashes. Some of your extreme tendencies are tempered. You are renewed. You have a bigger capacity for empathy and observation without judgment. Your sphere of compassion will expand significantly. 

The phoenix is strongly associated with rebirth and transformation. At this level, you break the chains of attachment. You have learned to let go. You also become aware of your powers of mystical healing. 

The phoenix realizes that true power lies in spreading peace and healing. To reach this stage, you need to undergo a complete inner transformation. 

In Summary

Scorpios are ruled by Pluto, which is associated with transformation and learning to see things in a new way. Scorpio is the only sign with three distinct totems representing different stages of spiritual evolution. 

The scorpion is the raw form of Scorpio and is ruled by lower emotions, such as anger and jealousy. The eagle is less self-destructive and can see things from a higher perspective. The phoenix lives in balance and has excellent healing and mystical powers.